top of page
  • Writer's pictureKell

Lets get lashed....


So last month, for the first time ever, I decided to dip my toe into the world of lash extensions. Having never really bothered before, I started using false eyelashes in January for nights out and, boy, did I have a game!! The fiddly little suckers are a nightmare to get on and when I did eventually get them in place, I would spend the whole night double checking they were still there (one night at an awards ceremony for work, I arrived at the venue with one half hanging off.... Mortified!!!).


In the hope of not having to experience this type of stress again, I decided to go big or go home and go for the semi permanent option.


Before


After being recommended the lovely Monika at M Studio Lashes, I booked my appointment for a Thursday evening - obviously far too excited to wait for the weekend. Girls..... if you are anything like me, don't book an appointment for a week day, unless you can work from home. Although I could wear foundation, I could wear no eye makeup - including mascara. I spent the whole of Thursday hiding out in my office, avoiding eye contact for fear of scaring my colleagues with my mascaras-less lashes. In reality, I'm sure none of them even noticed and would definitely not be bothered, but in my self conscious world, it was a traumatic few hours.


During


On arrival, Monika immediately put me at ease. I didn't feel embarrassed about not knowing what I was talking about having never been before, she explained everything to me, what lashes she would be using (D shape to accommodate my specs) and got me settled on the bed, even covering me with a fluffy blanket to make sure I stayed warm enough. I was so comfy, I definitely nodded off a couple of times - doing that awkward jump when I woke back up (sorry Monika!).


I have to say the whole process was painless, the only strange bit to start with was when she told me I needed to keep my eyes closed, immediately, I wanted to open them. But after that it was a dream.


One thing I didn't realise was just how long the first appointment would take. It was 2 and 1/2 hours later when I emerged with bed hair, a little dazed and confused, not sure what day it was, but what I did know was that my lashes were most definitely ON FLEEK.


After


For the first 24 hours, its important to keep the lashes dry to ensure adhesive sets completely, so I was super careful.... And paranoid. I slept dead stiff and on my back to avoid crushing my beautiful new accessories into the pillow.


My pocket mirror (or selfie mode on my phone) was never far from my side, with half of me just wanting to keep looking at them because they were so fab and the other half wanting to check they were still there! Monika gave me a fab little lash brush too which, along with my mirror, has been a permanent handbag accessory.


I have to say I completely love the ease of having lashes, I can tone down my makeup and still look "made up". With summer round the corner, I know my daily make up routine will soon be minimal.


I did make one error during my first three weeks..... Due to my paranoia that I would lose them if I messed with them too much or got them too wet, I wasn't cleaning them enough and suffered with a bit of dry skin around my eyes. The second I started cleaning them properly, my skin cleared up and my lashes looked even better.


I'm so impressed with how well the lashes lasted and I am now a week into my first set of infills - they look even better second time round. If anyone is on the fence about whether or not to try them, I would DEFINITELY recommend giving them a go.


My first infill


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page